Username Password
PINA
Two book deal for former boss turned thriller writer
11:28 am GMT+12, 10/07/2009, United Kingdom

Charlie Charters, who helped launch the Pacific Islanders rugby Test team, has signed a two-book deal with renowned British publisher Hodder and Stoughton.

Hodder publisher Nick Sayers said: 'In his first book Charlie Charters has written a high-octane thriller with terrific military and spycraft background and a great what-if? scenario with a nail-biting climax.'

Charters, 41 and living now in North Yorkshire, was chief executive of the Pacific Islanders Rugby Alliance in 2004 when the British Lions-style team made of the best players from Fiji, Samoa and Tonga, undertook their first ever Test matches.

His first book, entitled Bolt Action, will be published in July next year as a paperback original, with the second - as-yet-untitled- following a year later.

“I finished Bolt Action listening to the commentary of the Pacific Islanders playing Italy in November [2008],' said Charters, who was also marketing manager of the Fiji Rugby Union from 2001 to 2004.

“When the whistle blew for full-time, the first Islanders Test win, I was within 10 minutes of finishing my script. True story. And I knew then that Bolt Action was blessed with good luck”

Set on a plane - where, since the 9/11 attacks, the door between the cockpit and the cabin must be locked - Bolt Action tells the story of what happens when the pilot and crew have all been poisoned.

By chance, a renegade group of British ex-soldiers, fleeing the attentions of MI5, are on board.

Hodder described the novel as "the ultimate terrorist spectacular, played out as the world watches, blogs and tweets', which would appeal to fans of Tom Clancy, Jack Higgins, Duncan Falconer, Tom Cain and Andy McNab.

In 2004 the Islanders became the first Test side outside of the Rugby World Cup to play the Wallabies, All Blacks and Springboks on consecutive weekends. The John Boe-coached side lost each of the Tests but not by more than 15 points, and were widely commended for the competitive way they played on a shoe-string budget and for belying the age-old criticism that Fiji, Samoa and Tonga would never be willing to work or play together

SOURCE: CHARTERS/PACNEWS


News feature
There are no related media to this article.
Pacific Islands News Association
Who & What is PINA?
Membership
Member Countries
Media Freedom
Training
PINA Convention
Awards
Contact
Gallery
Forum
Events
Jobs
Classifieds
PACNEWS
Home
Regional
Feature
Business
Sports
Archives
Partners
Communications Initiative
International News Safety Institute (INSI)
UNDP PC
AusAID
NZAID
SPREP
ONOC
UNAIDS
Media Helping Media
Partners
PIFS
SPC
IFEX
UNESCO
AIBD
GFMD
SEAPA
WPFC
IFJ